Tuesday, April 5, 2011

WTO Essay Award for Young Economists

The annual WTO Essay Award consists of a prize of CHF 5,000 to the author(s) of the winning essay. In the case of a co-authored paper, the prize will be equally divided among the authors. The winning paper will be officially announced at the annual meeting of the European Trade Study Group (ETSG), which is currently the largest conference specializing in international trade. The award ceremony will take place in September 2011 in Copenhagen, Denmark. The winning author(s) will receive funding to attend the meeting.

An Academic Selection Panel is responsible for the selection of the winning paper. The Panel comprises:
  • Professor Avinash Dixit (Princeton University)
  • Professor Robert Staiger (Stanford University)
  • Professor Alberto Trejos (INCAE Business School).
Ex officio panel members will include Dr Patrick Low (Director, Economic Research and Statistics Division, WTO Secretariat) and Dr Hakim Ben Hammouda (Director, Institute for Training and Technical Cooperation, WTO Secretariat).
Dr Michele Ruta (Economist, Economic Research and Statistics Division, WTO) coordinates the work of the Selection Panel.

The paper must address issues related to the economics of the WTO.  Possible topics include the effects and design of trade agreements, contingent protection, trade facilitation, Aid for Trade, the economic aspects of dispute settlement, regional versus multilateral integration, trade agreements and the environment. The author(s) of the paper must possess or be engaged in the completion of a PhD degree and, if over 30 years of age, be no more than two years past a PhD defence. In the case of co-authored papers, this requirement shall apply to all authors. In addition, to be considered for the Award, essays cannot exceed 15,000 words

No comments: